

September 4, 2018

RPO Transportation Coordinating Committee Minutes

Attendance

TCC

Catherine Grimm, Tarboro Stephen Wensman, Smithfield Braston Newton, Johnston Marvin Sharpe, Wilson Tim Robbins, Benson James Diggs, Wilson Bill Bass, City of Wilson Catherine Grimm, Tarboro Gronna Jones, City of Wilson

NCDOT

Jimmy Eatmon, NCDOT-Division 4 Carlos Moya, NCDOT TPD

UCPRPO

James Salmons

Other

Stuart Bass, UCPCOG Bob League, Rocky Mount MPO Jordon Reedy, Rocky Mount MPO

Introduction

- Welcome & Introductions Bill Bass TCC Chair
 Mr. Bill Bass welcomed everyone and asked everyone to introduce themselves and then called the meeting to order.
- 2. Approval of Agenda

Mr. Bill Bass asked if everyone had an opportunity to review the agenda and asked if anyone had any additions to be made to the agenda. Being none and **UPON A MOTION** by Tim Robbins (Benson), second by Catherine Grimm (Tarboro) the agenda was unanimously approved as written.

3. Minutes – July 10, 2018

After reviewing the Minutes for the July 10, 2018 TCC meeting it was noted that Stuart Bass (UCPCOG) at the July 10, 2018 meeting and was added to the adopted minutes. **UPON A MOTION** by Tim Robbins (Benson), second by Catherine Grimm (Tarboro) the minutes were unanimously approved with the addition of Stuart Bass as attending.

Presentation

4. Strategic Transportation Investments (STI) P5 Presentation – Craig Midgett, NCDOT Mr. James Salmons provided a brief presentation on STI P5. Mr. Craig Midgett was unable to attend.

Discussion Items

- 5. STI P5 Division Project Scores Review

 Members were provided a brief overview the STI P5 Division Project Scores.
- **6.** STI P5 Division Project Priorities
 - Each priority project was briefly described and reviewed. Members were asked to review the proposed prioritization worksheet to ensure everyone's priority projects were highlighted.
- 7. Smithfield Comprehensive Growth Plan Public Meeting
 Stephen Wensman (Smithfield) invited everyone to attend the scheduled visioning workshop to
 provide input into the ongoing their transportation and economic growth plan on September 18, 2018.

Decision Items

8. *Title VI Education Presentation*

Members were provided an education presentation on Title VI. It was explained that due to receiving Federal funding the UCPRPO must have a non-discrimination plan (Title VI Plan). It was requested that each member complete the voluntary demographics request form.



9. Title VI Assurances Approval

Members were provided with the UCPRPO Title VI Assurances document for review. After brief discussion and **UPON A MOTION** by Tim Robbins (Benson), second by Catherine Grimm (Tarboro) the Title VI Assurances was unanimously approved.

10. JCATS FY20 5310 Application Letter of Support

A letter of support for JCATS's FY20 5310 Grant was provided within the agenda packets provided to members. After brief discussion and **UPON A MOTION** by Stephen Wensman (Smithfield), second by Catherine Grimm (Tarboro) the letter of support was unanimously approved.

Reports

11. US 70 Commission

Members were invited to the next US 70 Commission meeting scheduled for September 20, 2018.

12. Hwy 17/64 Association

The next meeting is scheduled for September 19, 2018 Pollocksville, NC.

13. Legislative Update

There was no update available.

14. NCDOT Division 4

Mr. Jimmy Eatmon (Division 4) reported that Division 4 should have their preliminary points by September 24th with a two-week comment period to follow. Following the two-week period there will be a "drop-in" session to receive public input. Final point submittal is due November 2, 2018 with final results in December.

15. NCDOT Planning Division (TPD)

Mr. Carlos Moya reported that everything has been completed and updated for fiscal year FY1718 which ended June 30, 2018.

Public Comment

16. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Other Business

17. TCC Member Comments

Mr. Salmons reminded members to submit any ADA intersection improvement needs.

Upcoming meeting:

The next meeting is tentatively scheduled for October 9, 2018.

UPON A MOTION from James Diggs (Wilson) was made to adjourn and a second motion was made by Catherine Grimm (Tarboro) and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,	
Bill Bass, TCC Chair	James M. Salmons, UCPRPO